Slim Layering – Outfit #1

It’s not quite time for 5 layers in the Charlotte area yet, but I know a lot of you are fighting the teens or even single digits by now. Whenever I’m somewhere up north, trying to fight the bone numbing cold and wind, my first thought usually isn’t what I look like until I get inside and defrost. With my hair, I usually need to take another shower, but most of the times I resort to about 20 bobby pins holding all of my flyaways and frizz back. The next thing I think about are my clothes. I still like to look decently put together instead of the abominable snowman!

So, how do you layer to stay warm, chic, and comfortable under your winter coat without looking like a toasted marshmallow ? I’ll be sharing a few of my favorite outfits this week about slim layering! I know that sounds strange since I’m 30 weeks pregnant, but this is applicable to everyone who isn’t pregnant as well!

The first outfit:

Tank: Blanqi tank or another support tank like this one

Sweater Tunic- similar one here and here and here

Long vest: P and the Lion 

Leggings: two pair from Lularoe

Thick socks: wool socks (you can double if it’s super cold!)

Booties- similar ones here and here

matchinpandthelionvest-5matchinpandthelionvest-1As usual, I threw on my jewelry from Sweet Peas Stamping, which I’ve linked here and here. I just love it! It’s simple, has personal meanings on every piece, and is so unique. I also carry one of my Fawn Design bags with me everywhere. I have two, so I always have one to match something! Sometimes, both of them end up coming with me – one is my purse/diaper bag and the other is my camera bag! I had to have a good reason to tell my hubby why I needed two!

I know some of you are thinking it’s crazy to wear two pair of leggings…it must be uncomfortable or something, right? Well, it’s not! And it really did keep me a lot warmer than I thought. There was no weird bunching or twisting anywhere. I also tested this outfit out underneath my winter down coat. Even with my belly, I could zip it up!

matchinpandthelionvest-7matchinpandthelionvest-6matchinpandthelionvest-3

matchinpandthelionvest-2

She just learned what eskimo kisses are! 

matchinpandthelionvest-8

Hallen’s outfit:
Bow: Leighton Tyler Boutique
Sweater: Brooklynn and Grey
Vest: P and the Lion
Boots: Brave Threads

 

2 thoughts on “Slim Layering – Outfit #1

Leave a Reply

